June 27-29, 2002 (Thur.-Sat.)

ICP21 Workshop

one of the Physics Workshops for the 21st Century

(supported in part by a grant from the Division of Undergraduate Education (DUE) by the Advanced Technological Education (ATE) Program of the National Science Foundation (NSF)) at Joliet Junior College

in Joliet, Illinois (near Chicago)

featuring Alex Dickison (Seminole Community College, Sanford, FL) and

Sherry Savrda (Lake-Sumter Community College, Leesburg, FL)

Tom O'Kuma (Lee College) and Curtis Hieggelke (Joliet Junior College)

 All participants should have completed the Online Pre-workshop Survey before the workshop.

 "A New College Physics Approach" pre-workshop materials (pdf format)

 (New 6/18/2002) Schedule. Note that for the field trip on Friday you must wear leather shoes with no holes or open spaces, long pants as well as short or long sleeve shirts - no sleeveless tops. Also no cameras are allowed.

 (Revised 6/18/2002) Participant list (please check and let us know if there are any mistakes)

 (New 6/18/2002) Transportation Arrival Pickup and Departure Information (including times) for O'Hare International Airport information. Please check for any problems and make sure you know where we will be meeting you if you are flying into O'Hare. Note that it is different than previous workshops due to security considerations.

 Map to Main Campus of Joliet Junior College and campus map to workshop site in E Building

 Meals will be provided for participants for Thursday morning - Saturday evening

 Motel: Wingate Inn-shared with another participant rooms will be provided for Wednesday evening to Saturday evening as needed. Participants wishing a single room or bringing a spouse will be expected to pay for half of the room. We have a limited number of rooms available.

 (New 6/19/2002) Motel Room List Please review for accuracy-it is often difficult to get a room if you do not have it reserved in advance.

Workshop Presenters Information

 Alex Dickison (Seminole Community College, Sanford, FL)

 Sherry Savrda (Lake-Sumter Community College, Leesburg, FL)

 Tom O'Kuma (Lee College, Baytown, TX)

 Curtis Hieggelke (Joliet Junior College, Joliet, IL)




back to theTYC Physics Workshop Home